Sunday, June 5, 2011

Blended Gospels: Jesus Chooses Twelve Disciples

In these days he went out to the mountain to pray, and all night he continued in prayer to God. And when day came, he called his disciples and chose from them twelve, whom he named apostles: so that they might be with him and he might send them out to preach and have authority to cast out demons.

The names of the twelve apostles he appointed are these:
(1) Simon (to whom he gave the name Peter),
(2) and Andrew his brother;
(3) James the son of Zebedee, and
(4) John his brother (to whom he gave the name Boanerges, that is, Sons of Thunder);
(5) Philip and
(6) Bartholomew;
(7) Thomas and
(8) Matthew the tax collector;
(9) James the son of Alphaeus, and
(10) Judas, son of James (Thaddaeus),
(11) Simon the Cananaean (the Zealot),
(12) and Judas Iscariot, who betrayed [Jesus].

[Blended Gospels: Matthew 10:2-4, Mark 3:13-19, Luke 6:12-16]

If this post got you to thinking, please leave a comment by clicking on the word "comments" below, and join the conversation

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for sharing your thoughts